Japanese Light Novels vs Chinese Web Novels

First I just want to say I'm fairly new here and apologize if this isn't the right place to post this topic or if it was discussed before.

Basically I just want to hear people's thoughts between the two types of novels. Do you read both? Any strong preferences? What aspects draw you to each? Whatever is on your mind when comparing the two. I imagine people here have experience with both groups but who knows maybe it's more of a distinct crowd for Chinese web novels.

I'm new to the whole Chinese web novel thing in general even though I spent a bit of time learning Chinese first before Japanese. Now I just use the best of both language worlds to read JP light novels (sometimes I choose to read it in Chinese if it's more readily available). Main reason I read JP light novels is because they are more lighthearted (fantasy romance genre in particular) and it's something nice to unwind with after a long week. Moreover, it makes for good reading practice. I just don't get that same vibe with Chinese web novels, but I figure it's just not a good genre match for me. I also have not done THAT much research into my options but perhaps recommendations can be made another time.

Comments

• edited December 2016
    I read both. I am Chinese, native in Madarin Chinese, proficient in Japanese.
    Some Japanese light novels are like Qidian novels, for example, Sword Art Online and Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei, which first appeared on-line. Some don't. There are also many unique Chinese web novels, like 临高启明. I found no counterpart of 临高启明 in other countries.
  • yxwh said:
    I read both. I am Chinese, native in Madarin Chinese, proficient in Japanese.
    Some Japanese light novels are like Qidian novels, for example, Sword Art Online and Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei, which first appeared on-line. Some don't. There are also many unique Chinese web novels, like 临高启明. I found no counterpart in other countries.