Eden Remains

Hi! I read all the time but I'm a bit new to writing. My current fascination is stories about virtual reality and I thought I would try my hand at it for my first attempt. As you might be able to tell (very obviously), it is inspired by current events. I do have a day job so I'm not sure how often I'll update, but if you like my writing, please comment and let me know! Compliments will be the best motivation for me to continue (and hopefully speed up the process).  :D  Chapter 1 is short to kind of set the tone of the story, I promise the following chapters will be longer. 

Synopsis: 
Aiden (no last name currently), is stuck in quarantine because of the Corona Virus. He suddenly has a lot of free time on his hands and decides to start playing the popular virtual reality game: 'Eden Remains'. Using his real-life military experience as a sniper, he hopes to gain an edge on the other players and survive both possible infection and pure boredom. Join Aiden in his journey to be the most overpowered player in Eden Remains!

Chapter 1: Name?

[Welcome to Eden Remains, enter a name and start designing your character!]

Aiden ignored the text box and turned his head to look around the virtual space. It was an empty, yet brightly lit meadow with naturalistic sounds of birds and flowing water coming from the distance. It was designed to integrate new players in a fun and relaxing way. They could run around, pick up some farm tools to try out, or even swim in the nearby stream. Some players were already satisfied with the tutorial map and didn't even bother making a character; just using the map as a vacation area or stress-free zone.

He looked back to the empty name box and virtual keyboard glued to his left hand, waiting for him to type.

"Hmm, a name... I'll just go with the last character name I used." Aiden typed 'Sinner' into the blank box.

[That name is already in use, please enter a different one.]