Enigma of the Soul

Hello! Newbie here! I have always wanted to write my own sci-fi or fantasy story. Since my vacation will last until the fifteenth of January, I decided to ?waste? my time with writing novels. Have fun reading!

P.S. Comments, especially compliments, are greatly appreciated by the author hehe. Thanks!

Summary:
This is the legend of an undying father-son pair as they try to find the origin of their immortality, to reclaim their emotions and to unlock the enigma of their souls.

Chapter 1: Resignation to Death

Father used to tell me that I could be anything I want—a healer, a ruler or even, a hero… anything—without the help of Gods, as long as I have the heart and the mind to will it. I used to believe every word he said. Although his scruffy beard, messy hair and dishevelled clothes made him look unreliable, he raised me into a hopeful person but now… looking at his muddied corpse, all I could feel was numbness and emptiness. The reality that my father used to escape from ran over him in feel speed.

“Sir Knox, what should we do with the children?” A stout soldier asked the imposing knight on the horse.

“I don’t want to repeat myself.” He scowled at the soldier. “Kill every member of the heretic village!”

“Ye-yes! Kill the children!” The soldier trembled.

A scrawny soldier slowly approached me. His smile gradually becoming sinister. “Come, kid… I will let you feel pain slowly. As a pagan, you deserve it.” He chuckled.

I ignored my impending doom to ask my dead father lying on the ground. “Was your life… meaningless?”

Unexpectedly, the heavens answered my question. Rain heavily poured down on us, washing away his blood on the ground and its ugly scent. I looked up to the dark clouds that rapidly covered the suns.

“I see…” I somehow understood what the heavens wanted to portray.