Should i study chinese?

You see fellow daoists i am a student ready to go to university and i chose to study foreign oriental languages: the thing is, should i study japanese or chinese?
I am a fan of jap and chinese novels so the choice is hard (°^°)
Can someone give me a few suggestions as for what language i should choose in his/her opinion? (Ps i am confident in my english skills at least :smile: )
Tagged:

Comments

• yep,as a Chinese,i definite suggest Chinese. that kind of language was amazing. one word,several kinds of explain,Ps:i suggest u have a look one program in Youtube:歪国人研究协会。just copy that,have a nice day.
  • I would suggest that you find some talk shows/ news programs in both Japanese and Chinese(Mandarin?) and listen to them forst of all. Try imitating the sounds you hear and feel out which you prefer speaking.
    Personally I like Japanese because it's pretty clear and with the exception of 'r' pretty easy to get the tongue around plus I prefer the sound of it and frankly find the chinese characters daunting to learn so the fact there's less used in Japanese is appealing for me haha
  • yep,as a Chinese,i definite suggest Chinese. that kind of language was amazing. one word,several kinds of explain,Ps:i suggest u have a look one program in Youtube:歪国人研究协会。just copy that,have a nice day.

Thank you very much, i will try that :)
    Reading here on wuxia surely gave me an impression about the different meanings of each single word and i must say i like the puns you can make out of them XD
  • I would suggest that you find some talk shows/ news programs in both Japanese and Chinese(Mandarin?) and listen to them forst of all. Try imitating the sounds you hear and feel out which you prefer speaking.